It’s that time again and boy do I resent it.

BEWARE OF THE WITCH…

I’m obliged to carve pumpkins and buy sweets for other people’s children who – masked and disguised – turn up at my door uninvited after dark to… well… beg for sweets.

Sure, I don’t have to display a pumpkin but my young would like to take part and help carve one. This is the part I like. Mine tends to win on the horror scale (unplanned).

It’s the doling out of sweets to people I’ve never met I resent. But today, while shopping for junk to give to other people’s children, I had an idea. Break the habit.

Healthy treats. They’ll never return. So everyone’s happy.

So as a deterrent, here’s my solution. Stock up with fruits and berries. Carve the said pumpkin and display as required.  But… when the little ones stand there expecting a whole tub of chocolates, offer them fruit! I can tell they need it. Berries, slices of apple and pear, chunks of coconut… Healthy treats. They’ll never return. So everyone’s happy.

And anyway what’s the meaning of the horrible whiny taunt, ‘Trick or Treat’?” ?Well, it’s vague at best and has been contorted by… um… guess who… the US.

This site tells us:

Although it is unknown precisely where and when the phrase “trick or treat” was coined, the custom had been firmly established in American popular culture by 1951…

(Ah, that explains a lot.)  And a little further down

Poor people would visit the houses of wealthier families and receive pastries called soul cakes in exchange for a promise to pray for the souls of the homeowners’ dead relatives

http://www.history.com/topics/halloween/history-of-trick-or-treating

When I ask for a trick, none of them oblige. Their whole purpose is to dress up and amass sugar.

I quite like the idea that the origins of Halloween aren’t clear but like the notion of honouring our dead on that night (our very own Día de los Muertos) And like it even better (makes more sense to me) that it goes back about 2000 years following Celtic traditions.

I always thought that the ‘Trick or Treat’ meant that I supply a treat or if I don’t’, they play a trick on me. When I ask for a trick, none of them oblige. Their whole purpose is to dress up and amass sugar.

And what have we done with that rather spiritual tradition? Disposed of the spirit of it, capitalised on the buying/eating aspects and ensured it’s lost all gravity and any reference to what could be an honourable and meaningful date. We’re good at that.

And it’s the little spongy faces with the downcast eyes, their disappointment/disgust barely disguised when they see what I’ve offered them

So there’s my guide. Sure, have some pastries but in return go and pray for my deceased loved ones.

And it’s the little spongy faces with the downcast eyes, their disappointment/disgust barely disguised when they see what I’ve offered them. Four Celebration chocolate?! Is that it you tight old lady? Don’t you realise we’ve got to share bootie equally between all seven of us? And we’ve already got Celebrations anyway…

Ok so this year kiddies, it couldn’t be clearer: if you like autumn fruits and berries on sticks, you’re all welcome. I’m happy to offer soul cake but be clear what I required of you in return.

I may be displaying a horrifically carved pumpkin outside but this isn’t a free-for-all sugar station. You’ve been informed and warned.

